Here in The Great Hall are the legends of stone skipping that have been inducted into The Mackinac Island Stone Skipping Hall of Fame.

tellefsonrick Tellefson Rock
Since the founding of the Mackinac Island Stone Skipping Hall of Fame, the Tellefson Rock has been symbolic of the pinnacle of stone skipping. The base of the trophy is hand crafted from lumber harvested from a 35 foot white pine felled with a double-bit axe wielded by the great Commander E. M. Tellefson himself. The trophy is crowned with a rock excavated from the famed Point aux Pins on Mackinac Island Michigan.

Currently The Tellefson Rock, or casually The Rock, stands at 33 inches and weighs 5.3 stone (75 pounds). Each Inductee is comemorated on the trophy with a skipping stone bearing their name and year of induction. Upon induction each new Inductee will enjoy several months with The Rock in their personal possession*. Overshadowing other championship trophies, the legend and glory of the Tellefson Rock continues to be a beacon of inspiration, living in the hopes dreams of competitors.

* Inductees are responsible for transportation of The Rock.

Bill Rabe
Wilmer (Bill) Taylor Rabe was the father of stone skipping competition in North America. Bill Rabe founded the Mackinac Island Stone Skipping and Gerplunking Club (MISS&GC) with the inaugural Mackinac Island 4th of July Stone Skipping Contest in 1969. He continued to be the tournament director and for the next 23 years, until his death, endlessly promoted Mackinac Island and Stone Skipping nationally and internationally through broadcast and print media. Bill published The Boulder, the avant guard journal of stone skipping. He established and presided over the MISS&GC Winter Rules Committee Meeting. Bill was an inaugural inductee into the Hall of Fame in 2011.

tellefson.jpg Commander E. M. Tellefson
Commander E. M. Tellefson was known as the “The grand old man of stone skipping” and was a legendary ambassador of the sport. His 17-skip stone at Point Aux Pins in 1932 stood unchallenged for 25 years and was the inspiration for the founding of the Mackinac Island Stone Skipping and Gerplunking Club in 1969. The commander opened the Mackinac Island 4th of July Stone Skipping Open Tournament annually with his traditional and now famous cry: “Let he who is without Frisbee cast the first stone." The Commander was an inaugural inductee into the Hall of Fame in 2011.

Ronald "Bud" Cooper
Bud Cooper was the first official to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Bud was a Mackinac Island Stone Skipping Judge from 1984 to 1990 and Judge ad auxilium vocatus from 1990 to 1992. As Lake Superior State University's Athletic Director for 26 years, “Bud” increased the rigor and legitimacy of Stone Skipping as a sport. Under his watchful eye Stone Skipping earned a stellar reputation as a "clean" sport, above the scandals that have plagued other major sports in America. Bud Cooper was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2013.

Marilyn Black
Marilyn Black has been an active promoter of Stone Skipping for almost 25 years. She  conceived the now famous Rock In River Festival Pennsylvania Qualifying Stone Skipping Tournament, held in Franklin, PA., a sanctioned qualifying event of the 4th of July Mackinac Island Stone Skipping Contest. Marilyn's creative genius brought to light the Babe Ruth of stone skipping, six time World Champion and current World Record Holder, Pennsylvania native Russ "Rock Bottom" Byars. Marilyn has continued to promote responsible Stone Skipping and preservation of our great water ways. Marilyn was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2013.

Copyright 2011 MISSHOF
All rights reserved
Updated: 4/6/2013